All licensed drivers are required to have a valid auto insurance policy to provide liability coverage for any injuries or property damage they may cause. If you're caught driving without insurance in Louisiana, you'll face stiff penalties—including the loss of your eligibility to collect compensation for accident-related injuries.
Louisiana State Insurance Requirements
Louisiana state law requires 15/30/25 liability limits. This means a driver must have at least $15,000 in coverage for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 in coverage for bodily injury to more than one person, and $25,000 in coverage for damage to someone else's vehicle or other property.
Louisiana is the second most expensive state for auto insurance policies in the nation, with younger drivers, men, and people with past blemishes on their record paying the highest premiums.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Driving without insurance carries a fine of up to $100 on top of any other traffic violations. You may also find that your registration and license have been suspended and that your vehicle has been impounded.
If you're involved in an accident, Louisiana's "No Pay, No Play" law will prevent you from being reimbursed for the first $25,000 in property damage and the first $15,000 of personal injuries—even if the other driver is 100 percent at fault for the accident. This "No Pay, No Play" law is similar to legislation in 10 other states.
As an uninsured driver, any damages you cause to another person will be paid from your own pocket. This means you risk losing assets you've worked years to accumulate as the result of one poor decision.
Seeking Legal Representation
If you've been involved in an accident as an uninsured driver, your lack of a valid policy will complicate your case considerably. Protect your rights by hiring a skilled attorney to advocate for you. Complete our online contact form to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with one of Neblett, Beard & Arsenault's experienced attorneys.