About 15% of Louisiana drivers do not have any form of valid auto insurance. Of the drivers who carry insurance, 40% purchase only the bare minimum policy requirements. This means, there’s an excellent chance you could be involved in an accident with a negligent driver who can’t afford to fully cover your damages.
The odds of your damages exceeding the limits of the at-fault driver’s coverage increase for accidents involving multiple injured parties or individuals who’ve suffered serious injuries. The minimum $15,000 in bodily injury coverage per person required by the state can quickly be eaten up by a lengthy hospital stay after surgery. To protect yourself, you need uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
What Is Uninsured/Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is required by law to be automatically offered to Louisiana drivers unless they have declined the coverage in writing. Declining this coverage will make your policy slightly cheaper, but it places you at serious risk if you are involved in an accident.
Options vary by insurer, but specific types of coverage you can purchase include:
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury
- Underinsured motorist property damage
- Uninsured motorist property damage
- Underinsured/uninsured motorist bodily injury
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist economic-only coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage
In Louisiana, uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage is required to be offered with a $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident coverage limit. This is significantly lower than many other states, which have a $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident limit. Increasing your coverage is strongly recommended if you are financially able to do so.
Uninsured/underinsured property damage coverage is not available if you already have collision coverage for your vehicle. If you are eligible to purchase this type of coverage, there is a $250 deductible, and your recovery is limited to $25,000 or the actual cash value of the vehicle, whichever is less.
Do You Need an Attorney When Dealing With Your Own Insurance Company?
Even when you’re dealing with your own auto policy to compensate you for your damages, you may still need help from a car accident attorney. Insurance companies exist to make a profit. Despite the premiums you’ve paid, their goal is still to minimize their payout. Having someone to advocate for your interests can help ensure that you receive the maximum possible compensation for your medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
Have You Been Injured In A Louisiana Car Accident?
If you've been hurt in a car accident you need to speak with an experienced car accident attorney as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our Alexandria office directly at 318.541.8188 to schedule your free consultation.